Moira Takes Home Canadian Horse Of The Year Honors

Moira (Ghostzapper), dominant winner against males in last year’s Queen’s Plate S., took home both Horse of the Year and Champion 3-Year-Old honors at the 48th Annual Sovereign Awards ceremony hosted by the Jockey Club of Canada on Thursday.

The evening began with a commemoration of the club’s 50th anniversary and recognition of the founding members from 1973. The top three finalists in each category are determined by the online ballots of the Jockey Club of Canada’s voters. The media category award finalists were determined by professionals within the industry selected from across North America.

Owned by X-Men Racing, Madaket Stables and SF Racing, Moira won the Fury S. June 11 at Woodbine before crushing the competition by 10 3/4-lengths in the Woodbine Oaks July 24. Her victory by seven-lengths Aug. 24 in the first leg of the Canadian Triple Crown with a final running time of 2:01.48 set a track record. Bred by Adena Springs, who took home Outstanding Breeder, Moira garnered 103 votes, followed by Lady Speightspeare (Speightstown) with 75 and Filo Di Arianna (Brz) (Drosselmeyer) with 24.

Equine Awards:
Horse of the Year: Moira
Champion 2-Year-Old Female: Cairo Consort
Champion 2-Year-Old Male: Philip My Dear
Champion 3-Year-Old Female: Moira
Champion 3-Year-Old Male: Sir For Sure
Champion Female Sprinter: Hazelbrook
Champion Male Sprinter: Filo Di Arianna (Brz)
Champion Female Turf Horse: Lady Speightspeare
Champion Male Turf Horse: Filo Di Arianna (Brz)
Champion Older Main Track Female: Lady Speightspeare
Champion Older Main Track Male: Who’s the Star
Outstanding Broodmare: Count to Three

Human Awards:
Outstanding Breeder: Adena Springs
Outstanding Owner: Bruno Schickedanz
Outstanding Trainer: Mark E. Casse
Outstanding Jockey: Kazushi Kimura
Outstanding Apprentice Jockey: Slade Jones
Outstanding Grooms: Amber Hutchinson / Ricardo Nichalson
Outstanding Writing: George Williams
Outstanding Photograph (tie): Allan De La Plante / Julie Wright
Outstanding Audio Visual/Digital Broadcast: Woodbine Entertainment
E.P. Taylor Award of Merit: Dale Saunders

The post Moira Takes Home Canadian Horse Of The Year Honors appeared first on TDN | Thoroughbred Daily News | Horse Racing News, Results and Video | Thoroughbred Breeding and Auctions.