HISA’s Anti-Doping And Medication Control Panel Members Revealed

Edited Press Release

The individuals who will comprise the Internal Adjudication Panel (IAP), which will hear Controlled Medication Rule Violation Cases under HISA’s Anti-Doping and Medication Control (ADMC) Program, were announced Friday by HISA and HIWU.

IAP members, who will serve for 4-year terms as independent contractors to both HISA and HIWU, were selected for their deep equine regulatory experience. State stewards will be prohibited from participating in cases originating in their state of employment. All members of the panel will receive training on HISA’s adjudication processes under the ADMC Program before they can hear cases and must complete continuing education on an annual basis to maintain their eligibility to serve.

“We are excited by the group we have assembled to hear Controlled Medication Rule Violation cases, which we expect to be the most common types of cases under the ADMC Program,” said Ben Mosier, HIWU’s executive director. “With their extensive and diverse experiences in equine regulation, we are confident that they will act fairly and consistently during the adjudication process.”

“The Internal Adjudication Panel will play a significant role in the enforcement of the ADMC Program given HISA’s distinction between medication overages and doping violations for the first time in our sport,” said HISA CEO Lisa Lazarus. “As such, I’m thrilled by the depth of knowledge and expertise each individual who has agreed to serve on the panel will bring to our adjudication processes, benefitting the entire racing community.”

The members of the IAP are as follows, with their “prohibited states” in relation to hearing cases included in parentheses where applicable:

Rick Abbott (PA)–chairs the Appeal and Review Committee of the National Steeplechase Association and was a member of the Pennsylvania State Horse Racing Commission from 1996 to 2009.

Eddie Arroyo (IL)–served as the senior state steward representing the Illinois Racing Board for 32 years.

Lisa Blackstone-current vice president of the Arabian Horse Association, chair of the United States Equestrian Federation’s (USEF) Ethics Committee, and co-chair of USEF’s Hearing Committee.

Barbara Borden (KY)–appointed chief steward for the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission in April 2012.

Patricia Bowman (IN)–currently a state steward with the Indiana Horse Racing Commission.

Lori Dinoto (OH)–works as a steward at both Mahoning Valley Race Course and Thistledown.

Connie Estes (NM)–deputy director of operations at the Texas Racing Commission and worked for the New Mexico Racing Commission as a state steward and for the Breeders’ Cup as a safety steward.

Hilary Forde–director of HF Consult Sports Law and currently serves as a tribunal clerk for the International Federation for Equestrian Sports (FEI).

John Herbuveaux (CA)–steward for the California Horse Racing Board since 1983.

Duncan Patterson (DE)–currently chairman of the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, chairman of the Drug Testing Standards and Practices Committee for the Association of Racing Commissioners International (ARCI), and a member of the Stewards Advisory Committee for the NSA.

Diane Pitts–currently on the board of directors for the USEF and was reelected to a second term as a member of the Tribunal of the FEI.

Erika Riedl–was a clerk for the Tribunal of the FEI and is a Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution-accredited mediator.

Kim Sawyer (CA)–accredited as a steward since 1999 and employed by the California Horse Racing Board since 2005.

Eric Smith (IN–a ROAP Level I-accredited flat racing steward and currently the senior state steward for the Indiana Horse Racing Commission.

Edward Weiss (CA)–has been a litigator in private practice, an assistant U.S. attorney, and general counsel of Ticketmaster.

The post HISA’s Anti-Doping And Medication Control Panel Members Revealed appeared first on TDN | Thoroughbred Daily News | Horse Racing News, Results and Video | Thoroughbred Breeding and Auctions.