2022 Alberta Award Winners Celebrated

The Alberta Thoroughbred industry was celebrated at Century Mile Racetrack and Casino on the evening of May 5 as over 130 Alberta Thoroughbred breeders, owners, trainers, and backstretch workers joined to honor Alberta’s best.

“In 2022, Alberta horse racing moved forward from the pandemic and began the recovery process with reasons for optimism on many fronts,” said Master of Ceremonies Ken Gee on behalf of Horse Racing Alberta Chief Executive Officer Kent Verlik. “An exciting accomplishment was the long-term funding agreement signed by Horse Racing Alberta and the Alberta Government that provides stability to the industry until Mar. 31, 2031.”

The biggest winner of the night was Dance Shoes (Mank), who won all four of the categories she was nominated for: Horse of the Year, Champion Sprinter, Champion Older Mare, and Champion Alberta-bred.

The Ken Cohoe Lifetime Achievement Award went to horseman Rod Cone. Leading Breeder was Pierre Esquirol; Leading Owner was the partnership of Crystal Cates and Gonzalo Anderson; Tim Rycroft was named Leading Trainer; and Enrique Gonzalez was awarded Leading Jockey.

For full details, visit the CTHS Alberta website.

The post 2022 Alberta Award Winners Celebrated appeared first on TDN | Thoroughbred Daily News | Horse Racing News, Results and Video | Thoroughbred Breeding and Auctions.