Tate appeals Namhroodah Ascot disqualification

James Tate

James Tate: will be represented by Rory MacNeice

JAMES TATE has lodged an appeal against the decision by stewards at Ascot last Friday to disqualify Listed winner Namhroodah and place her third behind Irish Rookie, with whom she interfered.

The promoted winner Red Box was beaten a short head after enjoying an uninterrupted passage, and few would argue she was the deserving winner.

However, according to current rules the stewards had no alternative but to place Namhroodah behind Irish Rookie once they were satisfied that “on the balance of probabilities the interference improved the placing of the interferer in relation to the sufferer”.

Whether they could be that sure is the crux of the matter, and although Irish Rookie was beaten only a neck after being squeezed against the rail 100 yards out, when coming with what looked a strong challenge up the inner, Tate believes he has a strong case.

Result should have been unaltered

He said: “The appeal goes ahead. After watching all of the video evidence and following long discussions with our representative Rory MacNeice we were of the opinion that the stewards could not be sure that Irish Rookie would have finished ahead of Nahmroodah (without the interference).

“Nahmroodah had been in front a long time, and she responds when the other two horses come to her. She has shown evidence of idling in front in the past, and Irish Rookie is a horse who does not win too often, so we felt the stewards couldn’t be sure and should have left the result as it was.”

Tate has failed in his appeals against two previous stewarding decisions, but he is not deterred.

He added: “I’m zero from two representing myself, but Rory MacNeice will be leading this appeal. The previous appeals were in normal races, but this is a bit more serious as it was a £55,000 race and, more importantly, she’s a filly who needs a black-type win.”

 

var $facebookBlock = $(‘#facebook’);
if ($facebookBlock.length){
$facebookBlock.attr(‘allowTransparency’, true);
}

This entry was posted in Racing News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.