Perth win takes Johnson past McCoy’s final total


Braavos: won easily to take Richard Johnson to 232 winners this season

  PICTURE: Edward Whitaker ( 

RICHARD JOHNSON, who will be presented with the champion jockey trophy by Sir Anthony McCoy at Sandown on Saturday, has surpassed his great rival’s final-season total of 231 winners with victory at Perth on Thursday aboard the Philip Hobbs-trained Braavos.

It has taken Johnson 23 years as a jockey to finally get his hands on the title, but his tally of 233, courtesy of a double completed by Ink Master, is the fifth highest to be achieved by a jump jockey in a single season – with the top four positions all filled by McCoy.

“It has been a fantastic season and I’ve managed a consistent flow of winners,” said Johnson. “It’s thanks to everyone who lets me ride and I hope to put a few more winners on the board.”

Sarah Hobbs, wife of Johnson’s boss Philip, said: “It’s great for him, he works so hard.”

The 200 club

Johnson, who rode his 3,000th winner and his first double century in his title-winning campaign, has ridden 47 more winners than his previous best in the 2003/04 season.

Now a massive 103 winners clear of his nearest challenger, Aidan Coleman, Johnson’s desire for winners show no signs of abating. The champion has one ride at Perth on Friday before making the 420-mile journey to Chepstow for a further four mounts on the penultimate day of the season.

The winner Braavos

Johnson achieved the landmark at Perth, where he rode a double

  PICTURE: Edward Whitaker (  

Earlier in the week, the 20-time champion jockey McCoy – who helped design the trophy Johnson will receive – expressed his delight at presenting his great friend with his first jockeys’ championship at the curtain-closer at Sandown on Saturday.


var $facebookBlock = $(‘#facebook’);
if ($facebookBlock.length){
$facebookBlock.attr(‘allowTransparency’, true);

This entry was posted in Racing News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.